Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [Guide] Everything you want to know about scripts, Step-by-step instruction, troubleshooting, explanation

 
post Mar 11 2016, 12:25
Post #1
f4tal



Veteran Poster
********
Group: Members
Posts: 2,662
Joined: 10-January 13
Level 416 (Godslayer)


This is guide designed to show how to install and operate scripts for HentaiVerse. You will not find here scripting lessons or something like that

FAQ


Q. What are scripts?
A. Scripts is piece of code, created by HentaiVerse community. All scripts aimed to increase potential of the game and make some management easy.
For example "Item Manager" script will add ability to multi-salvage, multi-shrine, multi-CoD items and gears; another script named "HoverPlay" will add ability to hit monsters by just hovering on them cursor (without clicking or pressing buttons); third example is "Smart Monster Lab" which will graphically change Monster Lab page into flat-like-style with options to sorting and filtering.

Q. Do I need scripts? Can I play without them?
A. Of course, you can play without scripts (and technically you should, because this is what game suppose to be), BUT script DO make game easier, better, faster, provide extra options, features and abilities. Scripts will not change game itself, but dramatically change premise, interface and frontend.

Q. How many scripts I can install?
A. How many you want. There is not exceptions or restrictions, but more scripts you will install - more messy and slower your game will be.

Q. Are all scripts legal?
A. No. Some features are prohibited to use in the scripts and using of such script is illegal and may lead to the ban. All scripts released in HentaiVerse subforum are legal to use if moderators or admin haven't said otherwise. If you are loading scripts from some third-party resource like [sleazyfork.org] sleazyfork, then you should be very careful with what you are downloading. You can ask for help in the Script Thread.
Following actions in scripts are prohibited:
QUOTE
Things that automate actions or combine multiple actions.
- Hovering attacks are allowed as exception
Things that parse the game state in order to, in any way, trigger or selectively present an action
-> example: a generic "use the potion that would fix my current threshold trigger" button would not be allowed.
Things that stop hover-attack (or any other action) based on specific condition. Hovering can restart automatically though.
- Only exceptions allowed are stop on HP/MP/SP thresholds and stop on buffs expiring.
-> example: default hotkeys cannot be excluded in case of low health
Things that indiscriminately allow the player to solve a condition without having to understand what he is solving.
Things that automatically select a monster to attack based on whatever condition.
-> example: an automated series of attacks to multiple monsters one after the other; auto-attacking the first monster
Things that help the player to solve a riddle of the riddle master.
Things that allows player to collect benefits from HV without requiring an input from the player are forbidden.
-> example: automatic scanning/buying items from the HV item shop and automatic buying of lottery tickets


Q. I have an idea/request/help for script. Where I can post about it?
A. Here

Q. Which parameters or settings scripts have?
A. Scripts have two kind of attributes: settings and parameters

Settings
Settings are options, design by creator of script. Settings may have true/false attributes or being presented in numeric way. To do changes you need download script and open it in text editor (for example, notepad).
For example in "Monsterbation" script you may find following settings:
CODE
mpboost = 100, spboost = 80,       // set to match player stats. add up all bonuses from abilities and capacitor
mppot = 70, sppot = 70,            // set to percentages restored by mana/spirit potions
showCooldowns = true,              // show cooldowns on the quickbar
cdTopAdjust = 8, cdFontSize = 200, // set to match font
effectsAboveMonsters = false,      // move player effects to above monsters
... and dozens other options.

In most time you can find settings at the beginning of script's code.
Some authors may tagged where settings are, by writing something like "Settings start here" and "Settings end here".

Advanced material: (most users do not need to know such details, read if you want to script-activating in-deep)
Parameters
Parameters are attributes every script has. There are two of them - when and where scripts should load.

WHEN script should load is the order of scripts loading. If you have only one script - you can forget about this parameter, but if you have more then one, you need to reorder them in proper way to make them work correctly.
Sometimes if your script is not working or loading very long - this is a matter of wrong order.
In a following example, first script to load is Reloader, next HV Battle Compact X, up to HV Counter save, which is 15 in a order.
Attached Image

WHERE script should load is place of page where script should load. You can define this place by editing the script itself. Open a script and find the block that starts with "==UserScript==" and ends with "==/UserScript==". This should look like this:
CODE
// ==UserScript==
// @name HV - Track Drops
// @version 2.1.1
// ==/UserScript==

To define where exactly script should load, you need to add one of the following lines into this block:
CODE
// @run-at document-start
// @run-at document-body
// @run-at document-end

In most cases attribute "// @run-at document-end" will work properly, but sometimes you need to use other attributes (for example, to run properly all custom skins you need to use "// @run-at document-start".
Most authors manually define where script should load by putting "// @run-at document-end" as default.

This post has been edited by DJNoni: Oct 9 2017, 07:46
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Mar 11 2016, 12:25
Post #2
f4tal



Veteran Poster
********
Group: Members
Posts: 2,662
Joined: 10-January 13
Level 416 (Godslayer)


Installing scripts


A. For Firefox browser


1. First you need to download [addons.mozilla.org] GreaseMonkey addon. This addon will provide simple but effective manager to install and configure scripts.
2. Now move to your tools/addons section and you will find new tab named "User scripts" with monkey log.
3. To install new scripts you need to drag and drop script into firefox browser
Attached Image
4. To configure WHEN script should load, you need to right-click onto script and in context menu you will find four options: "execute first", "execute sooner", "execute later", "execute last".
5. To configure WHERE script should load, you need to right-click onto script and in context menu click "edit" button. Then you need manually edit or add "// @run-at"-line by using text redactor
6. To manage SETTINGS you need to right-click onto script and in context menu click "edit" button. Then you need manually edit or add code by using text redactor

B. For Chrome/Iron browser


Chrome/Irom browsers are little different compare to firefox and have two methods to install scripts: "plain-script method" and "Tampermonkey method"

I. Plain-script method

Disclaimer: It seems that by using this method only half of scripts will work properly. If script not working for you, try to use Tampermonkey method. For example Reloader script will not working with plain-script method

1. Put this link into Chrome/Iron browser
CODE
chrome://extensions/

2. To install new scripts you need to drag and drop script into this window
Attached Image
3. You can't configure WHEN script should load. It seems that scripts launched in a order you installed them, so if you want to reorder them you need to delete them all and install in different order you want.
4. You can't configure WHERE script should load. You need to re-download script from Internet, redact it and after that re-install into browser. Every time you want to make a changes you need to delete script from browser, download it again from site, redact script in notepad and re-install in browser.
5. You can't manage SETTINGS. You need to re-download script from Internet, redact it and after that re-install into browser. Every time you want to make a changes you need to delete script from browser, download it again from site, redact script in notepad and re-install in browser.

II. Tampermonkey method

Disclaimer: It seems that Tampermonkey have a tendency to use a lot of RAM and slowdown after while. But different users there is different results.

1. First you need to download [chrome.google.com] Tampermonkey addon. This addon will provide complicated but very effective manager to install and configure scripts.
2. Now open your Tampermonkey and move to tab with green plus icon:
Attached Image
3. Put code of the script into in-build redactor and press "save" button
Attached Image
4. After that you will find script in tab "installed userscripts".
Attached Image
5. To configure WHEN script should load, you need to left-click onto script, then click "settings" sub-tab and after that choose "position:" you need.
Attached Image
6. To configure WHERE script should load, you need to left-click onto script, then click "settings" sub-tab and after that choose "run at:" you need.
Attached Image
7. To manage SETTINGS you need to left-click onto script, then click "editor" and after that you need manually edit or add code by using in-build redactor. Do not forget to save!
Attached Image

C. For Opera

Opera browser has two methods to install scripts: "Select-a-folder method" and "Violentmonkey method"

I. Select-a-folder method


1. Move to this content option in your browser: Opera emblem - Settings - Preference - Advanced - Javascript options - Here define your custom userscript folder and hit OK
Attached Image
2. To install new scripts you need to paste downloaded scripts into folder you created in previous step
3. You can't configure WHEN script should load. It seems that scripts launched in alphabetic order, so if you want to reorder them you need to rename scripts in specific way.
4. To configure WHERE script should load, you need to open script you want and redact it notepad.
5. To manage SETTINGS you need need to open script you want and redact it notepad.

II. Violentmonkey method


1. First you need to download [addons.opera.com] Violentmonkey addon. This addon will provide complicated but very effective manager to install and configure scripts.
2. Now open your Violentmonkey and click "new" button. After that just put code of the script in this in-build redactor and press "save" or "save and close" button
Attached Image
3. After that you will find your script in main tab.
4. To configure WHEN script should load, you need to drap and drop scripts by holding this cross-like icon in upper-right corner.
Attached Image
5. To configure WHERE script should load you need to click "edit" button on whatever script you would like. Than you need to click "custom meta data" and then choose specific "run-at"-type.
Attached Image
6. To manage SETTINGS you need to click "edit" button on whatever script you would like and after that you need manually edit or add code by using in-build redactor.

This post has been edited by f4tal: Apr 3 2016, 09:53
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Mar 11 2016, 12:26
Post #3
f4tal



Veteran Poster
********
Group: Members
Posts: 2,662
Joined: 10-January 13
Level 416 (Godslayer)


Troubleshooting


If for some reasons script is not working for you or working with errors, then try to do the following (in order of importance):

1. Switch from "default font engine" to "custom font engine". You can use any custom font and its settings for your purpose. You can find examples of custom fonts in this thread;
Attached Image

2. Open the script and check if "==UserScript=="-block has that line in it:
CODE
// @match *://*.hentaiverse.org/*

It it has not - then manually add that line anywhere (spaces don't mind);
Attached Image

3. Be sure that script is really being activated and working
Attached Image

4. If you are using any other scripts, try to turn them off - maybe one of the scripts messes the work?

5. Open the script and scroll down to its bottom. Check for any suspicious lines at the end of the script that just look "out of place". It may happen that when you have pressed Ctrl+A - your browser also copied information that does not belong to that script. More info here.
Attached Image Attached Image

6. Revisit every "non-battle" pages in HentaiVerse (Character, Bazaar, Arena, Inventory, Equipment, e.t.c.). Some scripts require to do that in order to collect data for work (one example is Equipment Comparison script);

7. Check that you are using the latest version of the script. You can visit that link to find information about various scripts' versions;

8. If you are using Firefox browser, type "about:config" into address-bar and set "gfx.direct2d.disabled" setting to "true";
Attached Image

9. If you are using addons that may remove JavaScript from the sites (like, "NoScript" addon), try to turn them off, or add HentaiVerse into exceptions;

10. Check that pop-up are allowed on HentaiVerse in your browser;
Mozilla: Settings -> Content -> "Block pop-up" should be checked off OR https://hentaiverse.org and [alt.hentaiverse.org] http://alt.hentaiverse.org should be added into exceptions;
Chrome: Settings -> Show advanced settings -> Content Settings -> Pop-ups -> should be set to "allow all sites to show pop-up" OR https://hentaiverse.org and [alt.hentaiverse.org] http://alt.hentaiverse.org should be added into exceptions;
Attached Image Attached Image

11. Check you haven't disabled JavaScript in your browser;
Mozilla: type "about:config" into address-bar and check that "javascript.enabled" is set to "true";
Chrome: Settings -> Show advanced settings -> Content Settings -> JavaScript -> should be set to "allow all sites to run JavaScript";
Attached Image Attached Image

12. Update your browser. If your browser is too old, it may not understand modern script syntax;

13. Try to use different browser. Scripts that have been developed in current time are adapted for work in Chrome & Firefox in the same way, but old scripts may require of using special browser to work them;

Report about the problem


If after doing all the steps above, you are still expecting difficulties with making the script work properly, or script does not work at all for, then you can help creator of the script with given him following information:

1. Your browser and its version (if you have tested the script in various browsers, then report them and their version too);

2. On what version of the HentaiVerse you are having difficulties (base: https://hentaiverse.org or alt: [alt.hentaiverse.org] http://alt.hentaiverse.org or both)?

3. What errors in your console? To open the console press either F12 or Ctrl+Shift+I, then follow these instructions:
Mozilla:
Attached Image
Chrome:
Attached Image

4. Post the screenshots with page you have problem with or the screenshot of error itself. You can also post a GIF-animation to show how error is appeared to you. For making the GIF animation you may use free software called [www.cockos.com] LICEcap;

5. Report about what other scripts you are using?

This post has been edited by f4tal: Oct 31 2017, 01:12
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Sep 30 2017, 15:04
Post #4
f4tal



Veteran Poster
********
Group: Members
Posts: 2,662
Joined: 10-January 13
Level 416 (Godslayer)


Hope you don't mind that I bumped that thread year and half after? It still maybe useful for those who never worked with scripts or expecting some difficulties with them.

I have updated first and third posts, btw, to reflect some changes in the game and script community (IMG:[invalid] style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

This post has been edited by f4tal: Sep 30 2017, 15:05
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Apr 25 2020, 00:18
Post #5
FEU000



Newcomer
*
Group: Recruits
Posts: 19
Joined: 23-April 20
Level 64 (Master)


Is there a way to get these to install and operate correctly on Microsoft Edge? All I've seen so far was for Chrome and Fire Fox.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Apr 25 2020, 02:15
Post #6
Scremaz



A certain pervert. OT expert. Just dancing around in the game.
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 24,287
Joined: 18-January 07
Level 500 (Ponyslayer)


i'm not sure, but admin said IE is not supported by HV, so i guess it won't change so much with edge.

your best chance is to use (a portable version of) chrome/firefox to play HV, if you like edge so much.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Apr 25 2020, 10:00
Post #7
Nezu



Rat
********
Group: Catgirl Camarilla
Posts: 3,843
Joined: 29-January 12
Level 500 (Ponyslayer)


QUOTE(FEU000 @ Apr 24 2020, 23:18) *

Is there a way to get these to install and operate correctly on Microsoft Edge? All I've seen so far was for Chrome and Fire Fox.


[www.tampermonkey.net] https://www.tampermonkey.net/?browser=edge
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Apr 25 2020, 10:58
Post #8
Scremaz



A certain pervert. OT expert. Just dancing around in the game.
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 24,287
Joined: 18-January 07
Level 500 (Ponyslayer)


oh, didn't know this (IMG:[invalid] style_emoticons/default/ohmy.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th April 2024 - 18:03