Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

33 Pages V « < 6 7 8 9 10 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> HV STAT v4.3.3 (5/14/2011), The HV Statistics, Tracking, and Analysis Tool

 
post Dec 15 2009, 23:53
Post #141
grumpymal



I hate everything >:C
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08
Level 362 (Godslayer)


Endgame is 20 rounds. Now that I'm playing a few of the Boss Arenas, I think I'm beginning to understand how hito feels and he's fighting 50+ round arenas with multiple bosses.

Anyway, since the Bestiary has been updated to now include major and minor weaknesses, I need to know how you guys want to differentiate between the two. Bold/italics don't seem to work very well, so either some sort of text divider or color variance would probably work best.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 16 2009, 00:01
Post #142
lolzerznijmniewdupe



Casual Poster
****
Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 9-July 08
Level 223 (Godslayer)


QUOTE(cmal @ Dec 15 2009, 22:53) *

Anyway, since the Bestiary has been updated to now include major and minor weaknesses, I need to know how you guys want to differentiate between the two. Bold/italics don't seem to work very well, so either some sort of text divider or color variance would probably work best.

Can you make tooltips appear?
That way you could have only the first letter of an element show up to save space and if we forget, then just hover your mouse above it for a second and tadah.
As for major/minor, maybe upper/lower case letters?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 16 2009, 01:25
Post #143
coredumperror



Ah ah ah... Vista is bad for you!
********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 2,750
Joined: 31-January 09
Level 304 (Godslayer)


Upper- and lower-caseing the first letter of the word is a really simple, great idea! I was going to suggest different shades of red, but lolzer's idea is better.

As for the speed of STAT, I am an experienced programmer, though not with Javascript. I know the basics of optimization, though, which are mostly language-independent. I think I can find the time to take a look at it soon.

The things you said in an earlier post, about string replacement of the CSS and such, definitely sound like they could be the primary slowdown issue. Unfortunately, fixing that would be a language-dependent optimization, but I should probably be teaching myself Javascript anyway. (IMG:[invalid] style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 16 2009, 01:52
Post #144
grumpymal



I hate everything >:C
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08
Level 362 (Godslayer)


I've tried using a CSS file with all the images base64 encoded instead of doing it on run-time. It tripled the size the of CSS file, though. It also fixed the missing close button on the UI (still getting that mysterious exception error). However, it doesn't seem to have affected the speed of page loading, which may or may not be due to the bigger CSS file that it has to insert (it shouldn't make any difference, I don't think). I'll change over for the next release and get some feedback on the perceived load speeds people are getting. I think I'll also completely remove the image badge option and switch over to just the plain HTML square, that might shave a few more milliseconds off load time.

After having another look at the script and doing a little fiddling, I've come up with a list, in no particular order, of the areas where the slowdowns are probably occurring.
1) Mob HP calculation. The script has to iteratively go down the page tree to find the HP bar images and do some math. Math always slows things down. Multiply this by the number of mobs.
2) Mob weakness lookup. It has to go down a lookup list (which is a giant mess of if statements that could probably use some optimization into a table or something) for every mob.
3) Duration counters. Script has to iteratively go down several trees to find the info on status effects for both the player and each mob. Then it has to iteratively go down the list and paste them on every status effect icon.
4) Highlighting and tracking. Script has to go down every line of the battle log and do stuff. This takes time. And then it has to read two and write one cookie on every page load. This is the bread and butter of BB/BBE/STAT, so speeding things up here will make a huge difference.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 16 2009, 02:17
Post #145
Qoko



Newcomer
*
Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 18-September 06
Level 36 (Journeyman)


Well, at least my comment wasn't in vain, you guys are looking at it (IMG:[invalid] style_emoticons/default/smile.gif). I think, although it may be based on system specs, I have the exact same differences as hito. Which would mean that for extremely fast, forwarding computers this isn't an issue, but a bit below that makes it a very game disturbing difference.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 16 2009, 21:00
Post #146
masquepiph



Elite Poster
*********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 6,823
Joined: 23-February 07
Level 370 (Godslayer)


QUOTE(cmal @ Dec 15 2009, 20:52) *

I've tried using a CSS file with all the images base64 encoded instead of doing it on run-time. It tripled the size the of CSS file, though. It also fixed the missing close button on the UI (still getting that mysterious exception error). However, it doesn't seem to have affected the speed of page loading, which may or may not be due to the bigger CSS file that it has to insert (it shouldn't make any difference, I don't think).

That shouldn't increase the load time at all; at worse it should stay the same but it should actually increase the speed. Instead of having to load the images from disk and then base64 encode them (which is what greasemonkey does when you use the hack I implemented before), they're already encoded and it just loads the txt version of the encoding.

When you say triple, you mean going from like 35KB to 100KB (insignificant), not 15MB to 45MB or something like that. If greasemonkey is having trouble loading that, it has some major internal issues it needs to work out.

Yay4fixing the fucking close button. I still don't understand why that wouldn't work >_<

QUOTE
I think I'll also completely remove the image badge option and switch over to just the plain HTML square, that might shave a few more milliseconds off load time.

Something that small and limited, I'd go with whatever looks best (if you can notice a difference). Maybe one of them doesn't show up in the wrong place as often as the other on the first turn (the bug bbqr keeps talking about).

QUOTE

After having another look at the script and doing a little fiddling, I've come up with a list, in no particular order, of the areas where the slowdowns are probably occurring.
1) Mob HP calculation. The script has to iteratively go down the page tree to find the HP bar images and do some math. Math always slows things down. Multiply this by the number of mobs.
3) Duration counters. Script has to iteratively go down several trees to find the info on status effects for both the player and each mob. Then it has to iteratively go down the list and paste them on every status effect icon.
4) Highlighting and tracking. Script has to go down every line of the battle log and do stuff. This takes time. And then it has to read two and write one cookie on every page load. This is the bread and butter of BB/BBE/STAT, so speeding things up here will make a huge difference.

I will think on these and see if I can't come up with a way to speed at least some of it up, though you will probably have to wait for my finals to end before you get anything useful (IMG:[invalid] style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

Edit:
QUOTE
2) Mob weakness lookup. It has to go down a lookup list (which is a giant mess of if statements that could probably use some optimization into a table or something) for every mob.

I honestly think you should remove it entirely. The only people who use this are mages, and they should be memorizing this crap. I know that back when I was a mage I had all the weaknesses and resistances memorized, it's just what you do. OR, split the function. It might just be easier to make show monster HP/Stats/Effects their own separate checkboxes and give each their own function. I have no need to see weaknesses, I'm a tank, so I'll have that unchecked. Mages can keep it if they want.

This post has been edited by DemonEyesBob: Dec 16 2009, 21:09
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 16 2009, 21:40
Post #147
grumpymal



I hate everything >:C
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08
Level 362 (Godslayer)


QUOTE(DemonEyesBob @ Dec 16 2009, 14:00) *

When you say triple, you mean going from like 35KB to 100KB (insignificant), not 15MB to 45MB or something like that. If greasemonkey is having trouble loading that, it has some major internal issues it needs to work out.

It really shouldn't. But then again, I'm used to working on 8- and 16-bit microcontrollers (though my newest one is a whopping 32; it was exciting when I got it) running on 8MHz clocks with 124 KB or less of on-board flash memory. Transitioning between what's significant between those and an exponentially more powerful PC sometimes gets delayed in my brain.

QUOTE(DemonEyesBob @ Dec 16 2009, 14:00) *

Something that small and limited, I'd go with whatever looks best (if you can notice a difference). Maybe one of them doesn't show up in the wrong place as often as the other on the first turn (the bug bbqr keeps talking about).

They more or less look the same, except the pic has rounded corners and that's one less thing for the script to base64 and load every refresh. I don't notice the misplaced badges that often on it, but unless I actually recorded their occurrences, I wouldn't be able to tell the difference.

QUOTE(DemonEyesBob @ Dec 16 2009, 14:00) *

I honestly think you should remove it entirely. The only people who use this are mages, and they should be memorizing this crap. I know that back when I was a mage I had all the weaknesses and resistances memorized, it's just what you do. OR, split the function. It might just be easier to make show monster HP/Stats/Effects their own separate checkboxes and give each their own function. I have no need to see weaknesses, I'm a tank, so I'll have that unchecked. Mages can keep it if they want.

Splitting it is a good idea. I'll C) Put it in.

I've got most of the new stuff in that I wanted for the next release, so once I give it a test, I'll throw it on my host and hand out some links to the dev version to some volunteers.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 00:05
Post #148
coredumperror



Ah ah ah... Vista is bad for you!
********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 2,750
Joined: 31-January 09
Level 304 (Godslayer)


I volunteer! (IMG:[invalid] style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 02:00
Post #149
grumpymal



I hate everything >:C
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08
Level 362 (Godslayer)


BTW, does anybody really care for the total damage dealt per round average?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 05:38
Post #150
coredumperror



Ah ah ah... Vista is bad for you!
********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 2,750
Joined: 31-January 09
Level 304 (Godslayer)


QUOTE(cmal @ Dec 16 2009, 16:00) *

BTW, does anybody really care for the total damage dealt per round average?


I sure don't. (IMG:[invalid] style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

But why do you ask?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 06:21
Post #151
grumpymal



I hate everything >:C
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08
Level 362 (Godslayer)


It just seemed unnecessary so I'm looking for an excuse to get rid of them. That's two less math problems the script has to do.

Are there any other stats people think we can do away with? I'm also considering cutting the zero damage stat since its from back in the heyday of the invincible plate tanks. Sure, if you're playing early Grindfest or Flimsy World you still see attacks that bounce off, but that's about it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 06:23
Post #152
dap00



Build A B.E.A.R. (Barely Efficient Arson Retardant) Pal!
*******
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 1,609
Joined: 8-December 08
Level 254 (Godslayer)


Can't really tell if what follows is an HV issue, or a STAT one, so forgive me if I'm bringing it up in the wrong place. But I'm guessing it only happened to me.

I was in a grindfest when this started, can't figure out a way around it.

Attached Image

I've tried disabling and uninstalling HV STAT, but no effect, which made me think it was just HV, at first. But when I copied out that long line of code at the bottom, it looked like a typical report of all the things that STAT tracks. I was able to recognize a couple of items that just dropped, for example.

There are numerous errors in the error console (a lot of them seem connected with the forum, actually), so I have no idea which matter here...

Attached Image

Actually, I just got an idea on what might be causing this (if it's only a problem on my end, at least), going to check it out now.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 14:39
Post #153
grumpymal



I hate everything >:C
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08
Level 362 (Godslayer)


QUOTE(dap00 @ Dec 16 2009, 23:23) *

Can't really tell if what follows is an HV issue, or a STAT one, so forgive me if I'm bringing it up in the wrong place. But I'm guessing it only happened to me.

I was in a grindfest when this started, can't figure out a way around it.

Attached Image

See:
QUOTE(cmal @ Nov 25 2009, 00:09) *

Note: If you have any previous versions of Battle Buddy/Enhanced, I highly advise that you uninstall them and delete any related cookies first.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 16:37
Post #154
Drygone Forever



I'll see you when I see you.
**********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 9,125
Joined: 26-August 06
Level 407 (Dovahkiin)


Zank you Cmal kun.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 16:56
Post #155
Finder



Casual Poster
****
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 302
Joined: 10-November 09
Level 233 (Godslayer)


Thank you for picking up where Battle Buddy left off and taking it to the next level, cmal.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 17 2009, 18:11
Post #156
dap00



Build A B.E.A.R. (Barely Efficient Arson Retardant) Pal!
*******
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 1,609
Joined: 8-December 08
Level 254 (Godslayer)


Huh, that was weird. (IMG:[invalid] style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) It was an old cookie causing the trouble after all. Funny, I don't ever recall having to manually delete one to get BB, BBE, or HV STAT to work (and now that I look, I REALLY need to clean that folder out!). First time for everything, I guess. Thanks for the tip, cmal.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 18 2009, 02:24
Post #157
Red of EHCOVE



Viceroy of Oook & EHCOVE cofounder
**********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 9,493
Joined: 28-April 07
Level 365 (Godslayer)


I removed the cookies but I am getting an error:

Windows Script Host
Script: (HV)STAT.user.js location)
Line: 2
Char: 2
Error: Object expected
Code: 800A138F
Source: Microsoft JScript runtime error
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 18 2009, 02:28
Post #158
grumpymal



I hate everything >:C
***********
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08
Level 362 (Godslayer)


QUOTE(Red_Piotrus @ Dec 17 2009, 19:24) *

I removed the cookies but I am getting an error:

Windows Script Host
Script: (HV)STAT.user.js location)
Line: 2
Char: 2
Error: Object expected
Code: 800A138F
Source: Microsoft JScript runtime error

That happens if you double-click the script file. You have to drag and drop it into your browser if you downloaded the zip and didn't install it from your browser.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 19 2009, 13:26
Post #159
socenso



Newcomer
*
Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 3-April 09
Level 166 (Lord)


Wow!!!

Great job!!!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
post Dec 20 2009, 09:32
Post #160
HASJ2



Newcomer
**
Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 2-September 09
Level 37 (Journeyman)


[bugzilla.mozilla.org] https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=503481
Interesting thing, for FF3.6b5 though.
Maybe this could speed STAT up a little?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post


33 Pages V « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd May 2025 - 02:00