 |
 |
 |
Battle Buddy, your HentaiVerse companion, How else does Chuck Norris play HentaiVerse? (current: v.2.1.8) |
|
Oct 21 2009, 20:03
|
masquepiph
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 6,823
Joined: 23-February 07

|
QUOTE(cmal @ Oct 21 2009, 12:40)  The script worked by going through the battle log on every load and counting up every instance of the keywords. So on every page load, it would re-count because the count from the previous load was reset. The script then detects when a battle is over and stores the current count to the cookie. Basically, the only time it really mattered was at the end of the battle. That's basically how gillian accomplished stat-saving, yes. In normal programs, it stores variables in memory until the program ends, usually when the desired task is completed (like icetea's AHK-based Stat Tracker). With this web script, you're basically running the program every time the page loads, so all your variables get reset even though your task isn't done. So gillian shoved the data into cookies and pulls them out and updates them every load.
Its a complicated mess that I wish I didn't have to deal with, but them's the breaks.
Why don't we change it to not count shit up until the battle ends? Seems a pretty basic option. We can detect if a battle ends b/c of winning, losing, running, etc. there's no need to recount everything every single time. This post has been edited by DemonEyesBob: Oct 21 2009, 20:10
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Oct 21 2009, 20:11
|
hen_Z
Group: Members
Posts: 499
Joined: 31-August 09

|
Gee, cmal, thank you very much for a such detailed explanation. QUOTE(DemonEyesBob @ Oct 22 2009, 00:03)  Why don't we change it to not count shit up until the battle ends?
Mm, because then it would only see last 100 lines, not the whole log? This post has been edited by hen_Z: Oct 21 2009, 21:36
|
|
|
Oct 21 2009, 20:16
|
masquepiph
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 6,823
Joined: 23-February 07

|
QUOTE(hen_Z @ Oct 21 2009, 14:11)  Gee, [b]cmal[b/], thank you very much for a such detailed explanation. Mm, because then it would only see last 100 lines, not the whole log?
Forgot about that rofl. Still waking up >_> I haven't looked at the code recently enough. If we're not doing it already, we can probably make it only read the new stuff.
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Oct 21 2009, 20:51
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
QUOTE(DemonEyesBob @ Oct 21 2009, 14:16)  Forgot about that rofl. Still waking up >_>
I haven't looked at the code recently enough. If we're not doing it already, we can probably make it only read the new stuff.
That's exactly what I'm working on, sort of. I'm trying to make it so that it reads every new turn block of the log. So every page load, it only reads the actions from the latest turn before shoving the data into a cookie and then at the end, it all adds up and get shoved into another cookie. Sounds simple, but not that easy since I don't know what I'm doing.
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Oct 21 2009, 22:40
|
masquepiph
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 6,823
Joined: 23-February 07

|
QUOTE(cmal @ Oct 21 2009, 14:51)  That's exactly what I'm working on, sort of. I'm trying to make it so that it reads every new turn block of the log. So every page load, it only reads the actions from the latest turn before shoving the data into a cookie and then at the end, it all adds up and get shoved into another cookie. Sounds simple, but not that easy since I don't know what I'm doing.
I should really get your AIM or something. In case you don't have any idea where to start, how about just keeping track of the last turn number in a cookie? If you don't want to do that, you could even check the first integer of the last line, which should be the turn number, and then go backwards until you hit the previous turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Oct 21 2009, 22:44
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
I've actually already figured out how to parse the turn number and the associated lines from the log. Its just the structure of the gillian's functions and working in an unfamiliar environment that has me disoriented. I think I've figured out how I want to do it, but I haven't looked at the code again since yesterday so I'll try it out when I do.
|
|
|
Oct 22 2009, 08:23
|
Beryl
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 8,931
Joined: 25-May 06

|
Gentlemen, would you like me to update the first post as you come out with new releases?
|
|
|
Oct 22 2009, 13:05
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
Well, if Bob decides to do a public release of his Equipment mod and it gets integrated, I think it might be best to start a new thread. BBE has forked sufficiently from the original and with both Item and Equipment tweaks, I think it can be christened with a new name.
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Oct 22 2009, 13:41
|
masquepiph
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 6,823
Joined: 23-February 07

|
QUOTE(cmal @ Oct 22 2009, 07:05)  Well, if Bob decides to do a public release of his Equipment mod and it gets integrated, I think it might be best to start a new thread. BBE has forked sufficiently from the original and with both Item and Equipment tweaks, I think it can be christened with a new name.
My code is so basic right now it's embbarrassing. No really. The thing that took the longest was fucking figuring out how many children('div').eq(0).children('div').eq(0) I had to do to finally get to the div that held the right info. That took most of the time in making the script. It's all hard coded at the moment too, I haven't made a button or options screen or anything (next step probably).
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Oct 22 2009, 14:07
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
Its a start, everything has to start somewhere. Once I fix the tracking, I can try giving you a hand with some things.
|
|
|
Oct 23 2009, 01:33
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
FFFFFFFFFFFFFFF DP.
Good News: I think I figured out how to isolate each turn block. Bad News: I still don't know if it'll do what I want it to do once I transfer over all the keyword counters for stat tracking. I'm going to pretty much rewrite the old highlight log function to move the counters out and into a different function. It worked beautifully without much stress. Now I need to clean it up and do more tests.
This post has been edited by cmal: Oct 23 2009, 02:20
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Oct 28 2009, 00:27
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
The moment you've all been waiting for! Battle Buddy Enhanced now works with the truncated battle log. Had to rewrite some functions, but everything should be working. For best results, delete the old cookies (there should be two). If I fucked up the release package (which I have been known to do), let me know so I can fix it ASAP.
In other news, I've decided that this will be the last update to Battle Buddy Enhanced (barring any fuck-ups that need to be fixed real quick). This project originally started as a way of combining features added by other members to the original Battle Buddy. Since then, its grown considerably (the script now weighs in at over 100KB, whereas Battle Buddy's latest version is only 43KB). But that doesn't mean that's the end. I've got a few things on the back burner and I hope to add DemonEyesBob's Equip Shop tweak eventually. The next release will be featured in its own thread, under a brand new name. And you guys get to help come up with that new name. I don't want to clutter this thread up any more, so send me your thoughts and suggestions by PM. I've got a Gold Star and I don't get PMs, so I've got plenty of message space, LOL.
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Nov 1 2009, 11:59
|
bullpup
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 234
Joined: 28-April 09

|
Tactical Information Maintenance Integral Database, TIMID? Just throwing something out. (IMG:[ invalid] style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif)
|
|
|
Nov 1 2009, 21:14
|
lolzerznijmniewdupe
Group: Members
Posts: 278
Joined: 9-July 08

|
This may not be the best place for it, but I didn't see the new script thread, so here it goes:
Can javascript create animations? Particularly, can it make numbers pop up and disappear?
What I'd *love* to see is a big red "-100" (or whatever dmg) over the right side of player HP when he gets hit. And the same for monsters. If animations are not possible, even just displaying the number for 3 seconds would make me very happy.
Is it doable?
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Nov 3 2009, 19:08
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
DemonEyesBob has brought to my attention that the monster counter for drops and the kill score weren't updating inside Item World. I've decided to release a quick fix for it ahead of the new script's release. Please update if you use either of these features.
D'oh, borked the release package. BRB. There we go.
This post has been edited by cmal: Nov 3 2009, 19:10
|
|
|
Nov 12 2009, 09:03
|
coredumperror
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 2,750
Joined: 31-January 09

|
Is there any chance that this script (whatever it ends up being called) could get ported to work in Google Chrome? Chrome is several times faster than Firefox (at least for me) at loading the page after taking your turn in battle, and being able to have BBE working in it would be awesome!
|
|
|
Nov 12 2009, 11:50
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
I'll take a look at it later today. If Chrome is indeed much faster than FF and still works as intended, I might switch to doing HV stuff with Chrome myself (some battles can take forever to load).
|
|
|
Nov 12 2009, 12:15
|
hen_Z
Group: Members
Posts: 499
Joined: 31-August 09

|
QUOTE(coredumperror @ Nov 12 2009, 12:03)  Chrome is several times faster than Firefox (at least for me) at loading the page after taking your turn in battle, and being able to have BBE working in it would be awesome!
Isn't that because Crome don't load BBE at every page load, which is AFAIK pretty heavy? So, getting buddy running there would reduce speed to that of Firefox? If it is not the cause, then good for you... This post has been edited by hen_Z: Nov 12 2009, 12:16
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Nov 12 2009, 12:34
|
coredumperror
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 2,750
Joined: 31-January 09

|
QUOTE(hen_Z @ Nov 12 2009, 02:15)  Isn't that because Crome don't load BBE at every page load, which is AFAIK pretty heavy? So, getting buddy running there would reduce speed to that of Firefox?
If it is not the cause, then good for you...
I did a test in Firefox with Greasemonkey disabled, and Chrome still felt noticeably faster. That could be an effect of my other Firefox addons slowing page loads down, but I have none that should affect load times (I run a light addon suite).
|
|
|
|
 |
|
Nov 12 2009, 14:35
|
grumpymal
Group: Gold Star Club
Posts: 10,923
Joined: 2-April 08

|
Okay, I did some looking into the matter. Beta Chrome is supposed to provide better support for userscripts soon, imported from the Dev channel. Eventually, it should work just fine without needing to run a command line flag and having to make a folder for it to read out from. However, according to [ dev.chromium.org] this, Chrome doesn't support the unsafeWindow command, which is supposedly used by BB to load jQuery (which isn't used by the Hath Exchange script). I don't even know why unsafeWindow is being used, since its advised against, and I don't know what the alternatives would be, so I can't really do anything about it. I'll read up on it, but I can't guarantee anything.
|
|
|
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
|
 |
 |
 |
|